top of page

Another Update on Name, Image, and Likeness Laws: 19 States Have NIL Legislation

With the possibility of federal legislation looming, states have not slowed their progress to permit student-athletes enrolled in colleges and universities to receive payment for the use of their names, images, and likenesses (“NIL”). The laws enacted vary somewhat from state-to-state, but the common themes permit student-athletes to be paid for the use of their names, images, and likenesses, to hire representatives to represent student-athletes’ interests, and student-athletes may not be compelled to forfeit their rights in order to participate in intercollegiate athletics. At present, the following nineteen (19) states have NIL legislation in place:

· Alabama (Effective July 1, 2021)

· Arizona (Effective July 23, 2021)

· Arkansas (Effective January 1, 2022)

· California (Effective January 1, 2023)

· Colorado (Effective January 1, 2023)

· Florida (Effective July 1, 2021)

· Georgia (Effective July 1, 2021)

· Maryland (Effective July 1, 2023)

· Michigan (Effective December 31, 2022)

· Mississippi (Effective July 1, 2021)

· Montana (Effective June 1, 2023)

· Oklahoma (Eligible Immediately, but not later than July 1, 2023)

· Nebraska (Eligible Immediately, but not later than July 1, 2023)

· Nevada (Effective January 1, 2022)

· New Jersey (Effective in 2025 – 5th Academic Year after Passage)

· New Mexico (Effective July 1, 2021)

· South Carolina (Effective July 1, 2022)

· Tennessee (Effective January 1, 2022)

· Texas (Effective July 1, 2021)

Connecticut, Illinois, Louisiana, and Missouri currently have bills waiting for signatures of their governors that are expected to be signed any day.

The following states have pending bills that have not yet been approved: Hawaii, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and West Virginia.

The following states have yet to propose bills: Alaska, Delaware, Idaho, Indiana, Maine, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Utah, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page